I remember when PLT meant “platoon” to me.  It’s only been 5 years, but it seems like just yesterday…

Now, apparently, it’s going to mean “professional learning team.”  As in, “professional learning community.”

I spent some time in a meeting today (long story, that…) and we briefly discussed the idea of a professional learning community at our school.  The buzzword has been around for a while now (a little more than a year, as I recall), and I guess we’re looking at getting serious about it.  Here’s where I’m at, though: I’ve read this much (imagine two fingers held 1/2″ apart) about PLCs, and I don’t think it’s the same thing we discussed today.  What I’ve read about, I like; what we discussed, I don’t know about.  I guess I’m going to have to do a little more poking around the ol’ ‘net…

