That’s like asking if we’re there yet…

It’s Friday night, and I’m regretting the nap that I took when I got home from the last day of AMSTI.  90 minutes of sleep at 4:30 makes it tough to call it a night sometimes. 

Overall, AMSTI was good, but I’m glad that it’s over.  I’ve got a mountain of math and science materials to go through: it’s a good thing there’s a month of vacation left. 

Why do you get critique sheets at the end of an event?  Okay, I know that you can’t give feedback on an event until it’s over, but by the time a two week long training session is over you just want to get out of there.  Given the magnitude of the endeavor that is AMSTI, I think that the powers that be do a pretty good job.  There’s quite a bit of tweaking that could be done, but nothing too big. 

For example, as lead teacher this year I was the one from my school to sign for our new big-box-o-stuff.  Last year’s box had thermometers, a weather shelter, a huge tape measure, and some other cool stuff.  I was sort of looking forward to taking some time this summer playing with whatever goodies we got this year.  I cut open the box (about the size of a really big briefcase) to find: cloud charts and an equally really big bag of packing peanuts.  Cloud charts?  That’s it?  Granted, we’ll probably use the cloud charts, but I’m pretty sure that the packing and handling cost more than the charts.  Um…why?

Or my aforementioned (last post) classroom management session.  By my rough calculations, Alabama paid our group around $500 to spend an hour discussing how to use this material with our students.  Nothing earth-shattering (same stuff I’ve heard many times), and presented to a group with 200+ years of combined classroom experience: best use of funds?  Maybe not.

I don’t like negative posts, but I did want to get that out of my system.  There was a lot more positive than negative on the week, and I’m excited about getting the year rolling.  I don’t know if I can take my marching orders for the upcoming year from a t-shirt slogan, but one day the staff had a shirt that said something like this:

To get what we’ve never had, we must do what we’ve never done.

Alright, let’s do it.

