This is starting to be a recurring theme: a lack of buy in. 

It’s the last week of school here (so I’m not spending a lot of time thinking about this since I’m sort of otherwise occupied), but I continue to come across more examples of school folks–students and educators–not buying into technology.  It’s almost as if school is insulated from the rest of our lives.

This is from a tweet, so I’m obviously a bit sketchy on the details.  Appparently Lee Kolbert was conducting some tech training yesterday at the “middle school.”

Teachakid: Training at middle school today went well. They gave me 40 min. When the 40 min was up, they got up and walked out. I was still talking.

Again, this is just a guess on my part, but I’m assuming that the collective group had something more important on their minds than integrating technology into their teaching effort.  Or Lee was simply boring (I’m going with the former).

Do most teachers believe technology is important to their instructional effort?  Is it?

