We’re facing what is definitely an unusual set of circumstances: like so many schools across the United States, our school might be closed for another two weeks because of concerns related to swine flu.  Wow.  That’s mind-boggling to me.  Understanding that (on average) 36,000 people die each year because of “regular” flu, it’s clear to me that I’m missing a major piece of the puzzle as I wonder why this situation warrants such steps.  “Flu season” at school is a time of regularly sending kids to the clinic with temps and general yuckiness; why is this different?  (By the way, my question is along the lines of “I need to find out why” instead of “I don’t think it should be this way.”  I’m not complaining; I’m concerned.)

That’s not what I’m talking about, though, in the title of this post.

As I’m pondering a possible “online” experience to present to my students and their families, I’ve got a sneaky suspicion that some of my students are going to respond with a variation of, “What? School?  I don’t want to do school!”  That’s not a good sign.  Though it’s tempered by the belief that some of my students would enjoy an online experience, the idea that some would recoil from the idea of a “school” activity is sobering.  Am I hitting the target that I want to hit–have I facilitated learning as a pleasant activity or not?  Is what we do cause for moans and groans?  Hmmm.

