It’s hard to believe that the summer break is almost over and that another school year is about to start rolling.  I’m excited as well as anxious.  I’ve got my class roster–looks like a good group; I’ve been into my room–it’s starting to look like a classroom again; I’ve almost got a handle on the curriculum changes for this year–that’s a small problem still!

The district has adopted a new reading/language curriculum, so that means familiarizing myself with a new set of materials.  The material looks pretty good (in my opinion), and I’m looking forward to working with it.  As always, my plan is to use their resources with my style of teaching.  I’m happy to find that there’s not too much disparity between those two elements this time around.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading this summer concerning writing and language as well as reading comprehension, so I’ll probably spend the first few weeks getting things to mesh as smoothly as possible.

The class blog has been fired up (http://room322.edublogs.org) and I’ve cleaned up the wiki.  Things are ready to get moving on that front.

Now all I need are some students (after I enjoy another week of summer)…

