Surfing around the edublog world this morning and I came across a post touting the virtues of a software package called Super Duper Music Looper. Okay, I’ll admit it: I’m getting up in years and my musical tastes probably reflect that. This product allows kids to produce music tracks–loops–that are a little much for me. Fortunately, if they use this program, they won’t be producing them for me–they’ll be producing them for themselves.

I didn’t wake up this morning planning to shop for music software, but this looks really cool.

The link above sends you to a site where you can download a demo, or try a flash version of the software online. Honestly, the flash version is more satisfying because the demo limits you to one song of their creation. (At least, that’s what I think after playing with it for about 5 minutes.)

Uses for said software? Background music for different video and audio creations. Loops to play in class or other areas for different activities (high energy for PE/recess; calm for a spelling test; in-between for the get-ready-to-go-home routine. The bottom line, as I see it, is that the kids are creating. No, they’re not writing music, but they are creating.

Bonus feature: the list price is $19.95. Hey…I can afford that.

